Skip to content

Facebook–a friend?

April 10, 2012

I’m not a huge fan of birthdays–especially my own. They’re kind of a hassle. But this time around, it was beautifully low-key. And, much to my surprised, I found it was enhanced by my old (usually pretty onerous) friend Facebook. I actually really loved watching wall posts trickle in–first from Turkey and Germany, then from some night-owl friends in the States, then finally from the (small but loyal) masses of admirers I have scattered across the country. It was fun to go about my day, with the occasional little red “notification bubble” popping in my browser or on my iPod to let me know someone was giving some lovin’.

And if anyone wants to counter that Facebook messages are “less meaningful” than a good old fashioned card in the mail, I’d say: maybe, but it doesn’t matter. I know that, when I’m composing a birthday post for someone, I’m at least holding them in my mind for a few seconds out of my busy day, and thinking back to a time when there was less distance between us. And that’s simple, and good, and can reach farther and extend to a broader spectrum of friends and acquaintances than cards can. And I like the idea of people doing the same for me on my birthday. So thanks, Facebook and friends, for a low-key birthday!

One Comment leave one →
  1. genomad permalink
    April 20, 2012 12:26 am

    happy belated birthday I hope that it was a great one.

    Its true that a post on an internet social networks can capture our attention and cause us to reminisce about times we spent with that person.

    But I can’t help but think that the electronic layer (facebook, dating sites, text messages, etc) further separate us from each other. It is no longer taboo to not respond to someone. And as more of life’s communication becomes digitized its harder to make meaningful real world connections. Digitization lowers the cost (time and other) to participate but that seems to lower the value as well.

    I hate to be a downer but I guess I miss the world of greeting cards and the personal touch. Im still in my 20s and already feel ignored by and increasingly disconnected world around me largely because there are few social outlets other than facebook and random drunken or overly religious strangers.

Leave a Reply

